Edinburgh Castle Tickets
Edinburgh Castle tickets cost £23.50 for an adult booked online and £26 bought at the gate (about $32 and $35), and the gate option disappears entirely once the online stock for your date is gone. Below is the official grid read on edinburghcastle.scot on 30 August 2026, the flexi and family rates, every free and discounted category, what the guided-tour tickets add, and the three moves that still work when your date shows nothing. The castle itself — hours, highlights, the climb — is on the Edinburgh Castle page, and the rest of the city starts from the Edinburgh city guide homepage.
Quick answer The price, the online-only rule, who goes free — in four lines
An adult ticket is £23.50 booked online and £26 at the gate (about $32 and $35). Entry is dated and timed, and Historic Environment Scotland states plainly that once tickets sell out online there will be no further tickets available at the castle — there is no walk-up fallback.
Key takeaways
- Booking online saves £2.50 an adult and is the only way to guarantee entry at all; a family of two adults and two children pays £67.50 online against £74.50 at the gate
- The flexi ticket at £38 for an adult (about $52) buys one entry on any day in a seven-day window instead of a fixed hour — the insurance policy for a trip with weather in it
- Historic Scotland members, Explorer Pass holders, serving armed forces and up to two carers enter free, and a Young Scot card gets you in for £1; all of them still have to book online
- If the shop shows nothing on your date, a guided tour with entry included holds its own allocation, and the Royal Edinburgh Ticket on the city passes page guarantees entry even when the castle site is sold out
- None of it is a queue-skip in the way resellers imply: what you are buying is a slot, and what to see once inside is where the visit is decided
Key facts
Opening hours
| Castle, 1 April – 30 September | 09:30–18:00 |
|---|---|
| Castle, 1 October – 31 March | 09:30–17:00 |
| Last entry | One hour before closing |
| Online ticketing office, Monday–Friday | 09:00–17:00 |
Closed 25 and 26 December; 24 December last entry 14:30; 1 January opens 11:00
Admission
- Adult
- £23.50 online (about $32); £26 at the gate (about $35); flexi £38 (about $52)
- Reduced
- Concession 65+ or unemployed £19 online (about $26); child 7–15 £14 online (about $19); family from £48.50 (about $66)
- Free
- Historic Scotland members, Explorer Pass holders, serving British Armed Forces with a MOD 90 card, up to two carers per transaction; Young Scot card holders pay £1 (about $1.40)
Planning it
- Time needed
- Allow at least two hours inside, the castle's own figure, when you pick a slot
- Book ahead
- Essential — weeks ahead
- Address
- Castlehill, Edinburgh Castle, Edinburgh EH1 2NG — tickets are scanned at the gatehouse, not at a separate office
The official price grid, online against the gate
Every figure below was read on the castle's own ticket page, edinburghcastle.scot, on 30 August 2026. Dollar figures are approximations at £1 = $1.36 and are never what you are charged. Flexi tickets are sold online only, which is why the gate column shows nothing for them.
| Ticket type | Online | At the gate | What you save online |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adult, 16–64 | £23.50 (about $32) | £26.00 (about $35) | £2.50 |
| Concession, 65+ or unemployed | £19.00 (about $26) | £21.00 (about $29) | £2.00 |
| Child, 7–15 | £14.00 (about $19) | £15.50 (about $21) | £1.50 |
| Adult flexi, 7-day window | £38.00 (about $52) | Not sold at the gate | — |
| Concession flexi | £30.50 (about $41) | Not sold at the gate | — |
| Child flexi | £22.50 (about $31) | Not sold at the gate | — |
| Family, 1 adult + 2 children | £48.50 (about $66) | £54.00 (about $73) | £5.50 |
| Family, 2 adults + 2 children | £67.50 (about $92) | £74.50 (about $101) | £7.00 |
| Family, 2 adults + 3 children | £80.00 (about $109) | £88.50 (about $120) | £8.50 |
| Young Scot card holder | £1.00 (about $1.40) | Book online to guarantee entry | — |
| Audio guide, added to any ticket | £4.00 (about $5.40) | £4.00 at the audio booth | 20% off for members and Explorer Pass holders |
Children under 16 must be accompanied by an adult. The concession rate covers people aged 65 or over and people who are unemployed, and the castle states specifically that it does not apply to students. Admission prices are described as subject to change.
The official shop against the five reseller options, priced on edinburghcastle.scot and on the GetYourGuide listings on 30 August 2026.
| Option | Price | Includes | Cancel | Book |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Official timed entry | £23.50 online / £26 at the gate (about $32 / $35) | Entry at a chosen date and time; audio guide £4 extra | Not stated as refundable | Official site |
| Guided walking tour, ticket pre-collected | £35 (about $48) | Castle ticket collected for you and a 90-minute guided walk | Free up to 24 hours before | Check Availability |
| History and heritage tour with tickets | £37 (about $50) | Pre-collected entry and a guided history route, 1.5 h | Free up to 24 hours before | Check Availability |
| Tour with a kilted local guide | £39 (about $53) | Entry and a 90-minute guided visit in English | Free up to 24 hours before | Check Availability |
| Harry Potter walk plus castle entry | £58 (about $79) | Four hours: Old Town filming and writing locations, then castle entry | Free up to 24 hours before | Check Availability |
The official row links the Historic Environment Scotland shop directly, with no tracking on it. Reseller figures are the prices listed on 30 August 2026 and move with the date and the season. The official ticket is always the cheapest way through the gate and the only place the plain entry ticket exists; the rest add a guide, a route or a second subject and hold their own ticket allocation, which is what makes them useful on a date the castle shop has closed.
Edinburgh Castle tickets and tours compared
Every card opens the operator's own page, where the date calendar shows what is still available. Prices in pounds as listed on 30 August 2026; each of these carries castle entry, so the difference against £23.50 is what the guide and the allocation cost.
from £35
Edinburgh Castle: Guided Walking Tour with Entry Ticket
Castle entry ticket plus a 75-minute guided walk of the grounds, offered in five languages. The tour stays outdoors, and you explore the Great Hall, museums and prisons on your own afterwards.
Check Availability
from £37
Edinburgh: Edinburgh Castle Guided History Tour with Tickets
Tickets are collected before you arrive, then a guide covers the Argyle Battery, Great Hall and St Margaret's Chapel for 80 minutes. Free time inside follows; only English and Spanish are offered.
Check Availability
from £39
Edinburgh: Edinburgh Castle Tickets & Tour with Kilted Guide
A 90-minute castle tour whose selling point is a guaranteed local guide in a kilt, with tickets included. Arrive 15 minutes early; the tour runs in English only.
Check Availability
from £39
Edinburgh Castle: Guided Tour with Tickets Included
The only castle tour in this group marked wheelchair accessible, at 90 minutes with tickets included. English only, and you stay on afterwards until closing time to see the interiors.
Check Availability
from £46
Edinburgh Castle 120-Minute In-Depth Tour with Expert Guide
Two hours rather than the usual 90 minutes, with a printed castle map and eleven named stops from Mons Meg to the Royal Palace. English only, and fast-track entry is included.
Check Availability
from £51
Edinburgh Castle & Royal Mile Walking Tour - Ticket Included
The only castle option here that first walks the Royal Mile, with stops at St Giles', Victoria Street and the Grassmarket before 45 minutes inside the castle. Runs 135 minutes.
Check Availability
from £58
Edinburgh: Harry Potter Tour with Entry to Edinburgh Castle
The same Old Town Potter route as the cheaper walks, plus an Edinburgh Castle ticket handed to you at the end and two hours to use it yourself. Four hours in total.
Check AvailabilityPrices, ratings and details are the platform's own, checked 2026-08-30; dollar figures are the listed prices — the platform bills in your account's currency.
What the £2.50 gap is really for
The difference between the online and the gate price looks like a small convenience fee. It is not: it is the price of a ticket that exists at all.
Historic Environment Scotland's wording on the tickets page is unambiguous: "Tickets often sell out far in advance, especially over the summer months. Book your tickets online in advance for the best price and to guarantee entry. Once tickets are sold out online, there will be no further tickets available at the castle."
Read that twice before you plan a walk-up. Most attractions hold back a share of stock for the door; this one states that it does not. The £26 gate price is what you pay on a day that has not sold out, which in July and August is not most days. Booking ahead saves £2.50 an adult, £7 on a family of four — and on a busy date it is the difference between visiting and standing on the Esplanade.
The practical rule we would give a first-time visitor: fix the castle date first, before the rest of the itinerary, because it is the one attraction in the city that can refuse you outright.
Who counts as a concession, and who does not
The concession rate of £19 (about $26) applies to people aged 65 and over and people who are unemployed, on production of proof. The castle states in the same breath that it does not apply to students, which catches people who assume a student card works across British heritage sites — it does not work here.
Children aged 7 to 15 pay £14 online (about $19). Under-16s must be accompanied by an adult. The family combinations are fixed shapes — one adult and two children, two adults and two children, two adults and three children — so a group of two adults and four children buys a family ticket plus a child ticket rather than a bigger family rate.
The flexi ticket: one entry, any slot, seven days
The castle's own definition: "A flexi ticket allows you one entry to the castle on any day within a 7-day window that begins on your chosen visit date." Adult £38, concession £30.50, child £22.50 (about $52, $41 and $31). It is sold online only and there is no gate equivalent.
An adult flexi costs £14.50 more than a dated adult ticket, which is 62 per cent on top for the freedom to walk in when the weather or the day turns. Whether that is worth it comes down to one question: how much of your trip is fixed. On a long weekend where the castle is the anchor, the dated ticket is the better buy and the money goes on the audio guide instead. On a week in Scotland with day trips, a Highlands coach that might overrun and a forecast that changes hourly, the flexi is the cheaper mistake — a missed dated slot is simply gone, since the castle does not state any refund or transfer policy on its tickets page.
One thing the flexi does not do: it does not skip anything. You still arrive at the gatehouse and go through the same security and the same climb described on the castle page.
Who gets into Edinburgh Castle free, and who pays £1
Six categories enter at no charge or close to it, and all of them share one condition: the castle asks you to make an online booking anyway, to guarantee entry on the date. A membership card is not a substitute for a slot.
The £1 Young Scot rate is the one most visitors have never heard of, and the English Heritage arrangement is the one most English visitors have not checked.
| Who | What they pay | Proof needed | Book ahead? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Historic Scotland members | Free | Valid membership shown on arrival | Yes, to guarantee entry |
| Explorer Pass holders | Free | Valid pass shown on arrival | Yes, to guarantee entry |
| Serving British Armed Forces | Free, serving member only | MOD 90 card; book using the HM Forces ticket type | Yes |
| Carers with a disabled visitor | Free, maximum two per transaction | None required for the disabled visitor | Yes, added at booking |
| Young Scot card holders | £1 (about $1.40) | Valid Young Scot card on arrival | Yes |
| English Heritage, Cadw and Manx members | Half price in the first year, free for renewal and life members | Membership card | Yes |
Visitors with disabilities pay the standard rate
Historic Environment Scotland's access guide states its position directly: "visitors with disabilities are treated on an equal basis with all other visitors and entry is charged at the appropriate admission category rate", and "proof of disability is not required". The concession is on the carer tickets, capped at two per transaction and added during booking rather than at the gate. What that buys in practice — the mobility vehicle, the borrowed wheelchairs, the sensory backpacks, the BSL itinerary — is set out on the castle page.
The two add-ons: a £4 audio guide and the castle's own guided tour
Neither is included in the entry price, and the second is easy to miss on the booking flow because it is sold as its own ticket type rather than a tick-box.
The audio guide, £4
Narrated by Saoirse Ronan, Bill Paterson and Andrew Gower, available in English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Mandarin, Korean, Polish, Brazilian Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Ukrainian and Dutch, with large-print and Open Dyslexic versions on request at the audio booth. Historic Scotland members and Explorer Pass holders get 20 per cent off.
Hire a device at the booth on arrival, or buy the downloadable version with your ticket — and if you take the download, load it before you travel, because the castle warns that connectivity on the rock varies. Bring your own headphones and a charged phone. The paper orientation map is free at the gate either way.
The Official Guided Tour, £6.50 per visitor
The castle sells its own 30-minute guided tour as a ticket type that includes castle admission; the site states the tour at £6.50 per visitor (about $9), and it is free for Historic Scotland members. Tour times, as published on 30 August 2026:
| Season | Departure times |
|---|---|
| 1 April to 30 September | 09:45, 10:15, 10:45, 11:15, 11:45, 12:15, 13:15, 13:45, 14:15, 14:45, 15:15, 15:45 |
| 1 October to 31 March | 10:15, 11:15, 12:15, 14:15, 15:15 |
Availability is limited and every visitor must pre-book — this is not something you join on the day.
Three rules that lose people their guided tour
Arrive at the Tour Meeting Point — just through the Main Gate and to the right — fifteen minutes before the stated start time, and allow extra on top because entry itself can be slow. Miss the start and you cannot join that tour or any later tour the same day. Tours run outdoors on steep cobbled walkways, may be adapted or cancelled in poor weather, and are given in English only; if a tour is cancelled the castle emails and refunds the tour portion automatically.
Notice the gap in the winter table: nothing departs between 12:15 and 14:15, which is exactly when a short winter day pushes visitors to arrive.
Single ticket, Explorer Pass or membership: the arithmetic
Three products get you through the same gate, and the right one depends entirely on how many other Historic Scotland sites you will actually reach. Prices read on historicenvironment.scot on 30 August 2026.
The Explorer Pass is the traveller's product — 14 consecutive days from your chosen start date, around 60 sites in the summer season of 1 April to 31 October 2026. Membership is a 12-month commitment and only makes sense for repeat visits or a long Scottish trip.
| Product | Adult price | Valid for | Breaks even at |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single castle ticket, online | £23.50 (about $32) | One dated entry | — |
| Explorer Pass, summer season | £48 (about $65) | 14 consecutive days, roughly 60 sites | Just over two paid sites |
| Historic Scotland membership, card | £72 (about $98) | 12 months, all ticketed sites | Just over three paid sites |
| Membership by annual Direct Debit | £64 (about $87) | 12 months, UK bank account required | Under three paid sites |
The exclusion that catches royal-tour visitors
The Explorer Pass covers Edinburgh Castle, Craigmillar Castle, Linlithgow Palace, Blackness, Dirleton, Tantallon, Cairnpapple Hill and Aberdour, plus Inchcolm Abbey and Trinity House in summer. It does not cover the Palace of Holyroodhouse or Holyrood Abbey, which belong to the Royal Collection Trust and are ticketed separately, and it does not cover National Trust for Scotland properties.
So the classic Edinburgh pairing — castle at one end of the Mile, palace at the other — is never one pass. Pass holders do get 20 per cent off audio guides bought in person at Edinburgh and Stirling Castles and Glasgow Cathedral. Winter passes are cheaper but were not yet on sale on 30 August 2026.
Buying on the official site, and the lookalikes that are not it
The castle runs a site-wide banner on every page of edinburghcastle.scot that reads: "Be aware of lookalike sites selling fake tickets. Please use caution when planning your visit." That is the operator's own warning, not ours, and it is the reason the first row of every table on this page is the plain official shop with no tracking on the link.
The test is simple. The official shop lives at edinburghcastle.scot and historicenvironment.scot; those two domains are the only places the plain £23.50 entry ticket exists. Anything advertising "official Edinburgh Castle tickets" at a markup on a domain you have not heard of is a reseller at best. Legitimate resellers — the guided tours further up this page among them — do not hide what they are: they list an operator, a cancellation policy and a product that includes a guide, and they are transparently more expensive than the gate because of it.
The castle's online ticketing office answers Monday to Friday, 09:00 to 17:00, on the numbers published on its own contact strip; general enquiries run 09:30 to 18:00 from April to September.
There is no 2-for-1 and no discount code
Two of the most-searched phrases around this ticket are "Edinburgh Castle 2 for 1" and "Edinburgh Castle discount code". Historic Environment Scotland publishes neither. The discounts that do exist are the ones in the table above — membership, Explorer Pass, Young Scot, HM Forces, carers and the English Heritage, Cadw and Manx arrangement — plus the £2.50 you save by booking online rather than at the gate. Everything else advertising a code is selling you something other than the official ticket.
That is a negative finding worth stating plainly, because the alternative is spending an evening hunting for a code that was never issued.
The 1 September 2026 question
Several Edinburgh attractions raise their prices on 1 September 2026, when a temporary reduction in VAT on visitor attractions ends. Historic Environment Scotland has published no price change for Edinburgh Castle, so the figures on this page are exactly what the official shop charged when we read it on 30 August 2026 — and the site does note that admission prices are subject to change. If you are reading this in autumn, check the official row before you budget, and compare what moved across the city on the tickets index.
What the guided tickets actually add, and when they are worth it
A reseller ticket at £35 to £46 costs £11.50 to £22.50 more than the official £23.50. Three things can justify that gap, and one thing cannot.
What justifies it: a licensed guide walking you round for 90 minutes or two hours, so the vaults and Crown Square arrive with their stories attached; free cancellation up to 24 hours before, which the official ticket does not state; and a separate ticket allocation that can still be open when the castle's own calendar is not.
What does not justify it is the phrase "skip the line". Nobody skips security at the gatehouse — every visitor's bag can be searched and every ticket is scanned at the same arch. What a guided ticket removes is the ticket-office queue, which you also avoid by booking online for £23.50.
Our pick, if you want a guide: the 90-minute guided tour with entry at £39, because it leaves you inside the walls afterwards to finish the Honours and the war memorial at your own pace. If you would rather have depth than free time, the two-hour in-depth tour at £46 covers the whole complex. If the castle is one stop in a wider morning, the castle and Royal Mile walk at £51 carries you down the whole street, which the Royal Mile page maps out.
Edinburgh Castle ticket questions
How much is the entry fee for Edinburgh Castle?
£23.50 for an adult booked online and £26 at the gate (about $32 and $35), read on the official shop on 30 August 2026. Concession, for over-65s and unemployed visitors, is £19 online; a child aged 7 to 15 pays £14; a family of two adults and two children pays £67.50 online. The audio guide is £4 on top. The whole grid, including the flexi rates, is in the table above, and the castle page covers what the ticket actually gets you inside.
Is it better to buy Edinburgh Castle tickets online or walk in?
Online, every time. It saves £2.50 an adult and it is the only way to be sure of getting in at all: the castle states that once tickets sell out online there will be no further tickets available at the castle. The gate price only exists on a date that has not sold out. If you are worried about tying yourself to an hour, the flexi ticket at £38 covers any slot in a seven-day window.
Are there 2-for-1 Edinburgh Castle tickets or a discount code?
No. Historic Environment Scotland publishes no 2-for-1 offer and no discount code for the castle. The reductions that genuinely exist are membership and the Explorer Pass (free entry), the £1 Young Scot rate, free entry for serving armed forces and for up to two carers, half price in the first year for English Heritage, Cadw and Manx members, and the £2.50 you save by booking online. Which of those beats a single ticket is worked out in the arithmetic table above.
What happens if Edinburgh Castle tickets are sold out for my date?
There is no gate fallback, so you need another allocation. Three still work: a guided tour with entry included or the in-depth tour, which hold their own tickets; the Royal Edinburgh Ticket, whose operator states it guarantees entry for its customers even when the castle's own website is sold out, covered on the city passes page; or a flexi ticket for a week with a quieter day in it. Failing all three, swap the day — the section below sets out how.
Can I change the date on an Edinburgh Castle ticket?
The castle's ticket page states no refund, transfer or date-change policy, which means a dated ticket should be treated as fixed. That is exactly what the flexi ticket exists for: £38 for an adult buys one entry on any day in a seven-day window opening on your chosen date. Reseller tours are the other route to flexibility — the ones listed above cancel free up to 24 hours before.
Do I need to book a time slot, or just a day?
A standard ticket is for a date and a time, and the castle asks that you arrive within it; a flexi ticket is for a seven-day window instead. If you have booked the Official Guided Tour, you must be at the Tour Meeting Point just inside the Main Gate fifteen minutes before your stated start, and missing it means you cannot join any later tour the same day. Allow extra: entry itself can be slow, and the climb up the cobbles takes longer than the map suggests.
Do children need a ticket for Edinburgh Castle?
Children aged 7 to 15 pay £14 online (about $19) and must be accompanied by an adult; children under 16 cannot visit alone. The three family combinations — one adult with two children at £48.50, two adults with two children at £67.50, two adults with three children at £80 — are cheaper than the same tickets bought singly. A Young Scot card holder of any qualifying age pays £1, still booked online, with the card shown on arrival.
If your date is full: the three moves that still work
Check the official shop again in the morning first — released cancellations reappear there, and at £23.50 it is the cheapest ticket that will ever exist for this gate.
Then, in order: take a guided tour with entry or the two-hour in-depth version, which carry their own allocation and cancel free up to 24 hours before; look at the Royal Edinburgh Ticket, which its operator says guarantees entry for its customers even when the castle's own website shows nothing, though it cannot be arranged in advance of your visit and it is a 48-hour product bundling the palace, the royal yacht and the tour buses — the comparison sits on the city passes page; or move the castle to another morning of your trip and buy a flexi ticket so the choice stays open.
And if none of that lands, spend the day down the hill instead. St Giles' and the Royal Mile cost nothing to walk, Arthur's Seat gives you the castle in the view rather than under your feet, and the things to do index lists what is free, indoors and open when the rock is not.
Before You Book: What the Ticket Actually Buys
Three videos that answer the question the price tag raises — what is behind the gate, whether it is worth £23.50, and what first-time visitors wish they had known before booking.
Is Edinburgh Castle Worth it?
A short verdict video that weighs the ticket price against what is inside — the argument this page's table sets out in figures.
Video: Travels UnfilteredExploring Edinburgh Castle: Everything You Need to Know
A visitor's run-through of booking, arrival and the route inside, filmed on an ordinary day.
Video: Wandering — Beyond the RoadBefore You Go to Edinburgh (Skip the Tourist Traps)
A city-wide briefing that puts the castle ticket in the context of everything else you might book in Edinburgh.
Video: Destination Well KnownVideos load from YouTube only when you press play.
Page last reviewed 2026-08-30. Prices, hours and terms are set by the venue or operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure