Edinburgh Museums and Galleries
Edinburgh museums are unusual in one specific way, and it is the fact that should shape a rainy afternoon here: the national collections and the council's own museums charge nothing at the door. Scotland's national museum, the national art gallery, the portrait gallery, four small city museums on and around the Royal Mile and the city's exhibition gallery are all free to enter, all year, with no ticket and no booking. What costs money in this city is the attractions that use the word museum — a ship, a surgical collection, a geology dome — and the ticketed exhibitions inside otherwise free buildings. This page groups every one of them by what it charges, prints the hours and the last-entry times we read on the venues' own sites on 30 August 2026, and says plainly where a venue publishes nothing at all. The wider plan starts on the Edinburgh guide homepage.
Quick answer Which are free, what the rest charge, and when they shut
Most of the big collections in Edinburgh are free. The National Museum of Scotland, the Scottish National Gallery and the Scottish National Portrait Gallery all charge nothing for general admission, and so do the Museum of Edinburgh, The People's Story, the Museum of Childhood, the Writers' Museum and the City Art Centre. The paid list is short and specific: a royal yacht, a surgical museum, a geology attraction and the historic interiors that call themselves experiences. Everything free opens at 10:00; several stop letting people in at 16:30.
Key takeaways
- The single best free hour in the city is the National Museum of Scotland — daily 10:00 to 17:00, no ticket, with a roof terrace over the Old Town and a ticketed exhibition you can ignore
- Four council museums cluster on and around the Royal Mile and all keep the same 10:00 to 17:00 hours with last entry at 16:30; the grouped list puts them in walking order
- Nobody sells an Edinburgh museum tour, because the free ones need no guide — the closest thing is an Old Town history walk at £18 (about $24.48) that passes four of them, or a three-hour walk that takes in the galleries end of town
- Dynamic Earth is the outlier worth knowing about before you go: it sells no day ticket at all and publishes no opening hours on its own site, which the paid section sets out in full
Edinburgh's museums and galleries, grouped by what they charge
Sort by rating, price or time needed with the chips, or filter by district. Every price and every opening hour below was read on the venue's own website on 30 August 2026, and where a venue publishes nothing we say so instead of filling the gap. Venues with a page on this guide link to it; the rest link straight to their own site. Ratings and review counts are the booking platform's own figures for the ticket we link, printed only where a comparable ticket exists; the free museums have none and we leave the field empty rather than borrow one.
Free national collections
-
National Museum of Scotland
National museumfrom Free2 hoursbook-ahead tier 1 of 3
Scotland's national collection under one roof on Chambers Street, from the Lewis chessmen to Dolly the sheep, in a Victorian glass hall joined to a modern sandstone tower. Daily 10:00 to 17:00, closed 25 December, opening at 12:00 on 26 December and 1 January. The museum's own words: "Free entry, charges for some special exhibitions."
Tip: Lifts reach every floor and wheelchairs are loaned free; the Tower Entrance gives level access and avoids the busy Entrance Hall.
-
Scottish National Gallery
National art galleryfrom Free1 to 2 hoursbook-ahead tier 1 of 3
The national collection of art on The Mound, between Princes Street and the Old Town ridge: Titian, Vermeer, Raeburn's skating minister and the Scottish rooms. Daily 10:00 to 17:00, free admission, with charges for some temporary exhibitions. Shop 10:00 to 17:00; the Scottish Cafe takes last orders at 16:00.
Tip: Its own website blocks automated checks, so we verified these hours in a browser session on 30 August 2026 rather than trusting a cached listing.
-
Scottish National Portrait Gallery
National art galleryfrom Free1 hourbook-ahead tier 1 of 3
A red sandstone palace on Queen Street holding the faces of Scottish history, from Mary, Queen of Scots to contemporary photography, under a gilded processional frieze. Daily 10:00 to 17:00, free admission; Cafe Portrait 10:00 to 16:30 with last orders at 16:00.
Tip: Ten minutes' flat walk from the Scottish National Gallery — the two together are the easiest half-day in the city that costs nothing.
-
National War Museum
National museum inside a paid castlefrom Free with castle entry45 minutesbook-ahead tier 2 of 3
Four centuries of Scottish military history in the old ordnance storehouse, and the one national museum you cannot reach for free: it stands inside Edinburgh Castle. April to September daily 09:45 to 17:45, October to March 09:45 to 16:45, admission "free with tickets to Edinburgh Castle".
Tip: Budget it into the castle visit, not into a museum day — the castle ticket page has what that entry actually costs.
Free city museums
-
Museum of Edinburgh
City museumfrom Free45 minutesbook-ahead tier 1 of 3
The city's own history in a canary-yellow sixteenth-century house on the Canongate: the National Covenant, Greyfriars Bobby's collar and bowl, silver and street signs. In the venue's words, "free to visit and open seven days a week from 10am - 5pm. Last entry is 4.30pm."
Tip: The old edinburghmuseums.org.uk address now redirects to cultureedinburgh.com — guidebook links to it still work, but only through a redirect.
-
The People's Story
City museumfrom Free45 minutesbook-ahead tier 1 of 3
Working Edinburgh, told by the people who lived it, inside the Canongate Tolbooth of 1591 — a prison, then a courthouse, now the museum of ordinary lives. Free, seven days a week, 10:00 to 17:00 with last entry at 16:30.
Tip: It faces the Museum of Edinburgh across the street and keeps identical hours: two free museums, one crossing.
-
Museum of Childhood
City museumfrom Not printed by the venue45 minutesbook-ahead tier 1 of 3
The first museum of childhood in the world, opened in 1957, four floors of toys, dolls' houses, school desks and a Steiff bear that left Vienna on the last Kindertransport. Open seven days a week, 10:00 to 17:00, last entry 16:30.
Tip: Its own venue page never prints an admission price — the only place the word free appears is inside a visitor quote, which is why we do not state a figure here.
-
The Writers' Museum
City museumfrom Free30 minutesbook-ahead tier 1 of 3
Burns, Scott and Stevenson in a seventeenth-century townhouse up a close off the Lawnmarket, three minutes from the Royal Mile and missed by almost everyone on it. Free, seven days a week, 10:00 to 17:00, last entry 16:30.
Tip: Stairs only — one step at the main door, then no lift and no ramp, with steps to every floor including the shop.
-
City Art Centre
City exhibition galleryfrom Free general admission1 hourbook-ahead tier 1 of 3
Six floors of changing exhibitions from the city's own art collection, across the road from Waverley station. The venue states: "Admission is generally free, although charges apply for some temporary exhibitions." Open seven days a week from 10:00, last entry 16:30.
Tip: An escalator and a lift reach all floors — the most accessible of the council venues, and the closest to a station.
Paid attractions that call themselves museums
-
The Royal Yacht Britannia
Ship museum★ 4.9 (3,210)from £232 hoursbook-ahead tier 1 of 3
Five decks of the royal family's own ship, kept as she was decommissioned in 1997, at the end of the tram line in Leith. April to October 09:30 to 18:00 with last entry 16:00; £23 online in advance, £25 on the door, £27 date-flexible, and £1 less on each from November.
Tip: The entrance is on the second floor of a shopping centre, not on the quayside — the Britannia page has the door, the audio handset and the seasonal prices.
-
Surgeons' Hall Museums
Medical museumfrom £101 to 2 hoursbook-ahead tier 1 of 3
The Royal College of Surgeons' own collection on Nicolson Street: pathology specimens, the Burke and Hare material and the history of surgery in Edinburgh. Open seven days a week 10:00 to 17:00, last entry 16:30. Adult £10 (about $13.60), child 5 to 15 £5.50, concession £6.50, family from £17.
Tip: There is no online ticket at all — "We currently don't offer pre-booking for standard Museum visits", so you pay at the Level 3 reception and queue if it is busy.
-
Dynamic Earth
Science attractionfrom £232 to 3 hoursbook-ahead tier 2 of 3
Galleries and a planetarium under a white tented roof below Salisbury Crags, aimed squarely at families. Adult £23.00 online, £24.50 walking in; child 4 to 15 £15.00 online; planetarium-only £8.00 online. Average visit 2 to 3 hours, shows on the hour.
Tip: Every standard ticket is a twelve-month annual pass, not a day ticket — and the site publishes no opening hours anywhere. Both facts are set out in the paid section.
-
The Real Mary King's Close
Historic interior★ 4.8 (1,488)from £24.951 hourbook-ahead tier 3 of 3
The seventeenth-century streets buried under the City Chambers, seen on a guided hour with a costumed character. £24.95 an adult until 31 August 2026 and £28.50 from 1 September, when a temporary VAT reduction ends; child £18.25 rising to £21.00.
Tip: 58 steps down and 38 back up in dim light, and no lift is possible in a listed building — the close page has the access detail.
-
Camera Obscura and World of Illusions
Optical attractionfrom Not publishedAbout 2 hoursbook-ahead tier 2 of 3
A Victorian camera obscura at the top of the Royal Mile with five floors of optical illusions bolted underneath it, open until 20:00 most nights and 22:00 on summer weekends. The venue publishes no price list at all — the rate appears only inside the booking widget once you pick a date.
Tip: 98 steps over five floors with no lift, and a rooftop terrace at the top that is the point of the visit.
-
Scott Monument
Monument with a museum roomfrom £945 minutesbook-ahead tier 1 of 3
The Gothic rocket on Princes Street, with a small museum room at the bottom and 287 steps to the top platform. Daily 10:00 to 17:00, closed for lunch 12:30 to 13:45, £9.00 an adult and £7.00 for a child or concession, sold at the kiosk by card only.
Tip: There is no online ticket and no pre-booking — the queue at the kiosk is the whole waiting time.
Numbers match the list — tap a pin for the guide.
The free museums, and the hour they stop letting people in
Nine collections in Edinburgh charge nothing for general admission. What separates them is not the price, it is the closing routine — four of them stop entry at 16:30, and one publishes an opening time and a last-entry time but never a closing time. Hours were read on each venue's own website on 30 August 2026.
| Museum | Admission | Open | Last entry | Where it is |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| National Museum of Scotland | Free; charges for some special exhibitions | Daily 10:00 to 17:00; 12:00 on 26 December and 1 January | Not stated — the museum publishes none | Chambers Street, Old Town |
| Scottish National Gallery | Free; charges for some temporary exhibitions | Daily 10:00 to 17:00 | Not stated | The Mound, between Princes Street and the Old Town |
| Scottish National Portrait Gallery | Free; charges for some temporary exhibitions | Daily 10:00 to 17:00 | Not stated | 1 Queen Street, New Town |
| Museum of Edinburgh | Free | Seven days a week 10:00 to 17:00 | 16:30 | Canongate, lower Royal Mile |
| The People's Story | Free | Seven days a week 10:00 to 17:00 | 16:30 | Canongate Tolbooth, across the street |
| Museum of Childhood | No price printed on the venue page | Seven days a week 10:00 to 17:00 | 16:30 | High Street, Royal Mile |
| The Writers' Museum | Free | Seven days a week 10:00 to 17:00 | 16:30 | Lady Stair's Close, off the Lawnmarket |
| City Art Centre | Generally free; some temporary exhibitions charge | Seven days a week from 10:00; no closing time published | 16:30 | Market Street, opposite Waverley |
| National War Museum | Free with an Edinburgh Castle ticket | Daily 09:45 to 17:45 April to September; 09:45 to 16:45 October to March | Set by the castle's own last entry | Inside Edinburgh Castle |
The National War Museum is the honest exception in this table: the museum charges nothing and the gate in front of it charges plenty. Everything else here you can walk into off the street.
There is no museum tour — these walks pass the doors instead
No operator sells a guided tour of Edinburgh's museums, and it is not an oversight: the free collections are self-guiding, the national museum lends its own trails, and a guide would be selling you the walk between them. So the cards below are the Old Town walks that pass four of the free museums and end within a street of the fifth. Prices in pounds as listed by the operator on 30 August 2026; the platform charges in your own currency at checkout.
from £18
Edinburgh: Old Town History and Tales Walking Tour
Two hours through the UNESCO Old Town covering Mercat Cross, St Giles' and the Grassmarket, plus the Harry Potter locations. Ends in the centre near bars and transport; English only.
Check Availability
from £16
Edinburgh: Old Town History Walking Tour
The cheapest Old Town walk on the site, two hours past St Giles', Victoria Street and Greyfriars Kirkyard with the Greyfriars Bobby statue. Runs in four languages rather than English only.
Check Availability
from £35
Edinburgh: 3-Hour Guided Walking Tour
Three hours and nineteen stops, from Usher Hall through the Grassmarket and Royal Mile to the Scott Monument, led by historians. You pass the castle from outside; no entry is included.
Check Availability
from £25
Edinburgh: The Royal Yacht Britannia Ticket
Admission to the former royal yacht in Leith, self-paced over roughly two hours with an audio handset in 36 languages. The ticket doubles as an annual pass for 12 months.
Check AvailabilityPrices, ratings and details are the platform's own, checked 2026-08-30; dollar figures are the listed prices — the platform bills in your account's currency.
Why the national collections are free, and what that actually buys you
Scotland's national museums and galleries do not charge for general admission, and they have not since the policy was restored across the United Kingdom's national collections in 2001. For a visitor that turns three of the biggest buildings in the city into shelter, a toilet, a cafe and a world-class collection at no cost.
The National Museum of Scotland is the one to give the most time. It is two buildings joined together — a Victorian iron-and-glass hall and a 1998 sandstone tower — holding everything from the Lewis chessmen and a Roman hoard to Dolly the sheep and a working Newcomen engine. It opens daily at 10:00 and closes at 17:00, opens late at 12:00 on 26 December and 1 January, and shuts entirely on 25 December.
Nothing needs booking. Its own summary of the money is one line: "Free entry, charges for some special exhibitions."
The two national galleries are a ten-minute flat walk apart in the New Town, both open daily 10:00 to 17:00, both free. The Scottish National Gallery on The Mound is the old-master and Scottish collection; the Scottish National Portrait Gallery on Queen Street is the faces, from Mary, Queen of Scots to modern photography. One practical note about how we checked them: nationalgalleries.org refuses automated requests and answers a Cloudflare block to every tool we have, so these hours were read in a real browser session on 30 August 2026 rather than fetched.
Where a source fights back, we say so.
The national museum that sits behind a paid gate
The National War Museum belongs to the same national body as the museum on Chambers Street and charges nothing of its own: "Free with tickets to Edinburgh Castle." The catch is where it stands. It occupies the old ordnance storehouse inside Edinburgh Castle, so reaching it means buying castle admission first, and the castle is the most expensive ticket in the city centre. Its hours run to the castle's rhythm — daily 09:45 to 17:45 from April to September, 09:45 to 16:45 from October to March.
Treat it as the best room in the castle rather than as a museum you can drop into, and read the castle tickets page for what the gate costs.
The council museums: four free rooms on the Royal Mile, and one rule
The City of Edinburgh's own museum service runs a cluster of small free venues, four of them on or a minute off the Royal Mile. They are not blockbusters. They are the reason a wet hour on the Mile does not have to cost £25, and together they tell the city's story better than any single ticketed attraction on the same street.
The Museum of Edinburgh is the yellow house on the Canongate holding the National Covenant and Greyfriars Bobby's own collar and bowl — which is worth knowing if you have just walked past his kirkyard and the statue. Directly opposite, The People's Story fills the 1591 Canongate Tolbooth with working lives: a prison cell, a cooper's shop, a wartime kitchen. Up at the other end, the Writers' Museum sits in Lady Stair's Close with Burns, Scott and Stevenson, and the Museum of Childhood on the High Street claims to be the first of its kind in the world, opened in 1957.
- All four open seven days a week, 10:00 to 17:00, with last entry at 16:30
- None of them is bookable and none is timed — you walk in off the street
- The Writers' Museum is stairs only: one step at the door, then no lift and no ramp to any floor
- The old edinburghmuseums.org.uk web address now redirects to cultureedinburgh.com, which is where every current opening time lives
The rule that governs the whole group is that 16:30 cut-off. A visitor who leaves the Royal Mile museums until late afternoon gets one of them, not four. Start the run at 15:00 at the Writers' Museum near the castle end, walk downhill and you can see all four before entry closes; start at 16:00 and you will be turned away from the third.
The City Art Centre on Market Street keeps the same 16:30 last entry but is the odd one out in a different way: it publishes an opening time and a last-entry time on its own venue page and never states a closing time at all.
What the council does not publish
Three gaps are worth stating rather than papering over. None of the cultureedinburgh.com venue pages prints a street address in its page text — they describe the location in prose and load the map with JavaScript, so the addresses you find elsewhere are third-party. The Museum of Childhood page prints no admission price anywhere; the only occurrence of the word free on it is inside a visitor's quote, so we do not state a figure.
And the Writers' Museum carried a live notice that its Robert Louis Stevenson gallery was closed on 3 August 2026, with no stated reopening — check before you go if that room is the reason you are going.
The ones that charge, and what you get for the money
Six paid venues in Edinburgh present themselves as museums or as museum-like experiences. They are worth different amounts to different visitors, and two of them have ticketing rules that catch people out. Every figure below was read on the venue's own ticket page on 30 August 2026, with dollar approximations at £1 = $1.36.
The comparison that matters is not price against price, it is price against how much of the visit is the collection. Britannia is a real ship you walk through for two hours. Surgeons' Hall is a genuine research collection with no online ticket at all.
| Venue | Adult price | Approx. USD | Time to allow | The rule that catches people |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Royal Yacht Britannia | £23 online, £25 on the door, £27 date-flexible (April to October) | $31 / $34 / $37 | 2 hours, the ship's own figure | The entrance is on the second floor of Ocean Terminal; prices drop £1 across the board from 1 November |
| Surgeons' Hall Museums | £10; child 5-15 £5.50; concession £6.50 | $13.60 / $7.48 / $8.84 | 1 to 2 hours | No online ticket exists — you pay at Level 3 reception, and an annual pass at £26 pays for itself on a second visit |
| Dynamic Earth | £23.00 online, £24.50 walking in | $31.28 / $33.32 | 2 to 3 hours, the venue's own figure | There is no day ticket at all: every standard ticket is a 12-month annual pass |
| The Real Mary King's Close | £24.95 to 31 August 2026, £28.50 from 1 September | $34 / $39 | 1 hour, then the shop | A temporary VAT reduction ends on 1 September 2026 and the price rises that day |
| Camera Obscura | Not published by the venue | n/a | 1 hour 45 to 2 hours, both figures the venue's own | No price list exists on the site; the rate appears only in the booking widget after you choose a date and time |
| Scott Monument | £9.00; £7.00 child or concession; £26.00 family | $12 / $10 / $35 | 45 minutes | Card only at the kiosk, no pre-booking, and it closes for lunch 12:30 to 13:45 |
Dynamic Earth is a family attraction with a planetarium. The Real Mary King's Close and Camera Obscura are guided or interactive experiences that happen to hold historic fabric.
Dynamic Earth sells a year, not a day
This is the strangest ticketing arrangement in the city and it is not buried in the small print — it is the venue's own FAQ answer: "No, we do not have a day ticket available for Dynamic Earth. Your Annual Pass allows you to enjoy our Galleries and Planetarium - plus unlimited access for a whole year!" The £23.00 an adult pays online is therefore an annual pass, non-refundable if you miss your date, though it can be rescheduled. For a family of four visiting Edinburgh once that is £76.00 for a single afternoon with no cheaper option available.
The planetarium-only ticket at £8.00 online is the exception and does not carry the twelve months.
The price rise on 1 September 2026
Three paid interiors in the Old Town — The Real Mary King's Close, the Edinburgh Dungeon and Gladstone's Land on the Lawnmarket — currently print a temporarily VAT-reduced price that ends on 1 September 2026. At the close that means £24.95 becoming £28.50 for an adult and £18.25 becoming £21.00 for a child. If you are reading this on or after that date, the figure at the door is the higher one; the tickets hub tracks the current prices across every paid attraction in the city.
Free building, paid exhibition: the one that surprises people
The most common complaint about free museums anywhere is arriving to find the thing you came for is ticketed. Edinburgh does this too, and the pattern is consistent enough to plan around.
At the National Museum of Scotland the entire permanent collection is free — the Grand Gallery, the Scottish galleries, the roof terrace over the Old Town — while a temporary show in one of the top-floor exhibition galleries is ticketed. In 2026 the two ran side by side and made the rule obvious: Giants, in Exhibition Gallery 1, cost £13 advance or £14.50 on the day for an adult (about $17.68 or $19.72), while Scotland's First Warriors, in Gallery 2, was free. Same floor, same building, two different answers, and the advance rate closes at 23:59:59 the day before — turning up and paying at the desk adds £1.50 a ticket.
The other three are simpler. The City Art Centre's admission is "generally free, although charges apply for some temporary exhibitions", and the exhibition pages themselves do not print a price, so the charge only appears at the booking step. Both national galleries charge for some temporary exhibitions and nothing for the collections.
And Surgeons' Hall reverses the pattern entirely: everything there is paid, and there is no free entrance hall to see first.
- Always cheaper booked the day before at the national museum — the advance rate is not available on the day
- Universal Credit tickets to the national museum's ticketed shows were £3.00 an adult and free for a child
- A National Art Pass cut the same adult exhibition ticket to £6.50 advance
- Exhibition dates change: the show running when this page was checked closes on 14 September 2026 and a new price will replace it
Which museums to pick, by who is asking
Fifteen venues is a list, not a plan. Here is how we would spend the time, based on what the venues themselves publish about duration and access rather than on taste.
One free afternoon
The National Museum of Scotland, and nothing else. Two hours covers the highlights across both buildings, the roof terrace gives the Old Town view that most people pay for elsewhere, and the building is free, level and warm. If two hours is enough and the weather is not, walk ten minutes north to the Scottish National Gallery and make it a day for nothing.
Rain, and children
The Museum of Childhood is free, small and on the Royal Mile, which makes it the cheapest indoor hour in the Old Town — but check that 16:30 last entry. Dynamic Earth is the big wet-weather option at £23 an adult with a planetarium on the hour, and the annual-pass rule above applies. Camera Obscura is indoors, open latest of anything here and steep on stairs. The full wet-weather list, museums included, is on the rainy day page.
A serious collection, and an hour to give it
Surgeons' Hall Museums at £10 is the strongest paid collection in the city that is not a ship, and the least visited of the ones on this page — pathology, the history of surgery, the Burke and Hare material that also runs through Greyfriars Kirkyard and the ghost tours. There is no online ticket, so allow for a queue at the desk on a busy afternoon, and note the 16:30 last entry.
If you only have a ticket budget for one
The Royal Yacht Britannia at £23 online. It rates higher than anything else ticketed here, it takes the two hours the trust recommends, it is genuinely accessible on five decks by lift, and the dated admission ticket usually undercuts the ship's own flexible fare. It is also 20 minutes out in Leith, which the getting around page prices at £2.40 each way.
Where the museums stand
The free national collections, the four council museums and the paid attractions, plotted from the coordinates in each venue's own record. Everything except Britannia sits inside a 25-minute walk of the Royal Mile. Coordinates come from each venue's own record, or from Wikidata where the venue publishes none — which is the case for all four council museums.
What to read next
Three pages that carry on from the museum list.
National Museum of Scotland
The one entry on this page that deserves its own guide. The national museum page has the galleries worth the detour, the roof terrace hours and what the ticketed exhibitions cost.
Chambers Street, Old TownRainy day in Edinburgh
Museums are the first answer to Edinburgh weather and not the only one. The rainy day page adds the covered markets, the underground tours and the places that stay open when the free museums stop entry at 16:30.
The rest of the indoor listThings to do in Edinburgh
Where the museums sit against the castle, the hills and the tours. The things to do page ranks everything by what it costs and how long it takes, and links each entry to its own guide.
The full catalogueEdinburgh museums: questions
Which museums in Edinburgh are free?
The National Museum of Scotland, the Scottish National Gallery and the Scottish National Portrait Gallery, plus the council's Museum of Edinburgh, The People's Story, the Museum of Childhood, the Writers' Museum and the City Art Centre for general admission. The National War Museum is free too, but only once you have paid to enter Edinburgh Castle. The full comparison, with hours, is in the free museums table.
Do Edinburgh's free museums need booking?
No. Not one of them is timed or bookable for general admission — you walk in off the street, seven days a week. Booking only applies to the ticketed temporary exhibitions inside them, which are cheaper bought the day before, as the exhibitions section explains.
What is the best museum in Edinburgh?
For most visitors, the National Museum of Scotland: free, daily 10:00 to 17:00, two hours for the highlights, and a roof terrace over the Old Town. If you want a single paid visit instead, the Royal Yacht Britannia rates highest of the ticketed venues here at 4.9 from 3,210 reviews, and its dated admission ticket is the cheaper way in.
Are Edinburgh museums open on Mondays?
Yes, and on every other day. Every free museum in the table above opens seven days a week, and the paid list opens daily too — the closures to plan around are 25 December, and the late 12:00 opening at the national museum on 26 December and 1 January. Mondays are the quietest day of the week at the council museums in our experience, which is an observation and not an official count.
Which museums are best in the rain?
The national museum first, because two free hours indoors need no ticket and no plan, then the two national galleries ten minutes north of it. With children, Dynamic Earth runs its planetarium on the hour and Camera Obscura stays open into the evening. Note the 16:30 last entry at the council museums before you plan a late afternoon; the rainy day page has the rest.
Is there a pass that covers Edinburgh's museums?
Not usefully, because the collections that would justify one are already free. The passes sold here bundle the paid attractions — castle, palace and yacht — rather than museums, and the city passes page works out when that arithmetic pays. Surgeons' Hall sells its own annual ticket at £26 (about $35.36), which beats two single visits at £10.
How long do you need for the museums in Edinburgh?
Two hours for the national museum, an hour for each national gallery, 30 to 45 minutes for each council museum, and two to three hours at Dynamic Earth, which is the venue's own figure. Four free museums on the Royal Mile fit in one afternoon if you start by 15:00 — the walking order is in the council museums section.
Where museums fit in an Edinburgh trip
Museums are the counterweight to the ticket prices everywhere else in this city. A day built around the castle, an underground tour and a whisky tasting can cost £70 a head before lunch; a day built around the national museum, the two galleries and the four Royal Mile rooms costs the price of the coffee. Most visitors want both, which is why the useful move is to put the free collections in the afternoons, when the Old Town is at its busiest outside and its warmest inside.
Two dates to carry out of this page. The paid interiors of the Old Town rise in price on 1 September 2026 when a temporary VAT reduction ends, so anything quoted here from before that date is the lower figure. And the council museums stop entry at 16:30 — the single most common reason a visitor misses one.
Everything above was read on the venues' own sites on 30 August 2026, and the gaps, where a venue publishes no price or no hours, are printed as gaps.
Edinburgh's free museums on film
Three walk-throughs of the collections this page groups, filmed inside the buildings — useful for judging how big the national museum really is before you give it an afternoon.
7 hidden MUSEUMS AND GALLERIES in Edinburgh, Scotland | FREE things to do!
The smaller free venues, including the council museums this page puts in walking order.
Video: Kakibot's Guidebook7 FREE Museums to Visit in Edinburgh, Scotland
A run through the free list with footage inside each building, national collections included.
Video: BritblogTop 3 FREE Museums in Edinburgh, Scotland
A short version for anyone with one afternoon and no ticket budget.
Video: Nirz VlogsVideos load from YouTube only when you press play.
Page last reviewed 2026-08-30. Prices, hours and terms are set by the venue or operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure