Edinburgh With Kids
Edinburgh with kids is unusually cheap and unusually steep, and both facts come from the same place: a medieval city built on a ridge, with national museums that charge nothing and attractions that publish age limits most family guides never mention. This page prints what each venue actually publishes — the child rate, the age it starts at, whether under-fives are allowed in at all, and what happens to a pram on a close with 58 steps in it. Where a venue does not publish a child price, an age limit or a facility, we say so rather than guessing: on a family page that gap is the most useful line on the screen. Every figure was read on the venues' own pages on 30 August 2026, in pounds as published, with dollar approximations at £1 = $1.36. The rest of the city plan starts on the Edinburgh guide homepage.
Quick answer What is free, what children pay, and which places refuse under-5s
The best of Edinburgh with children is free: the National Museum of Scotland, both national galleries and four small council museums cost nothing at any age, and so do Princes Street Gardens, the Royal Botanic Garden and Portobello beach. What you pay for is specific — the castle at £14.00 a child aged 7 to 15 booked online, the zoo at £30.00 an adult, Dynamic Earth at £15.00 a child aged 4 to 15. And three of the city's best-known attractions do not admit under-fives at all.
Key takeaways
- The free anchor is the National Museum of Scotland — no ticket, no booking, lifts to every floor and a sensory map that names the calmer galleries, which is the detail parents of an overloaded four-year-old actually need
- Three places refuse under-5s outright: the Scott Monument, The Real Mary King's Close and the Edinburgh Dungeon, which also sets a recommended age of 8 — the age rules has every published limit
- The cheapest way to move a family is a tap: children 5 to 15 pay £1.20 a journey and under-5s ride free, or the City Sightseeing 24-hour ticket carries up to three children free with each paying adult and has a Horrible Histories channel
- Prams are the real constraint, not price — the castle stores no pushchairs at all and the Old Town closes are stairs — so read that section before you decide what to bring
What Children Pay, And From What Age
Every price and age rule below is the venue's own, read on its own ticket or visitor page on 30 August 2026, with dollar approximations at £1 = $1.36. Read the last two columns before the price ones: several of Edinburgh's best-known attractions publish an age limit rather than a child rate, and two publish neither.
| Place | Child price | Ages it covers | Under-5s | Booking |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| National Museum of Scotland | Free | All ages | Free, no ticket needed | None — walk in |
| Scottish National Gallery and Portrait Gallery | Free | All ages | Free | None |
| Council museums: Museum of Edinburgh, People's Story, Museum of Childhood, Writers' Museum | Free | All ages | Free | None; last entry 16:30 |
| Edinburgh Castle | £14.00 online (about $19); £15.50 in person | 7 to 15; Young Scot £1 | No under-7 rate is published on the plan-your-visit page | Timed, and it sells out far ahead in summer |
| Edinburgh Zoo | £20.60 online (about $28.02), a figure that includes a 15% summer discount | 3 to 15 | Under-3s free but a ticket must still be issued | Book online; may sell out in school holidays |
| Dynamic Earth | £15.00 online (about $20.40); £16.50 walking in | 4 to 15 | Under-4s free | Book to guarantee entry; every ticket is a 12-month pass |
| The Royal Yacht Britannia | £11.50 online (about $15.64); £12.50 on the door | 7 to 15 | 0 to 6 free | Optional — tickets sold on arrival, contactless only |
| Surgeons' Hall Museums | £5.50 (about $7.48); family 2 adults 2 children £25 | 5 to 15 | Under-5s free | Impossible — no pre-booking exists, pay at reception |
| Camera Obscura | Not published anywhere on the venue's website | Not stated | Free, but a ticket must still be booked | Recommended; 12s and under need someone 16 or over with them |
| The Real Mary King's Close | £18.25 (about $25) until 31 August 2026, £21.00 after | Not stated as a band | Refused — the venue does not admit under-5s | Strongly recommended; tours sell out |
| The Edinburgh Dungeon | No separate child rate is published | Recommended age 8 and over | Refused entry outright | "Pre-booking is essential", 15-minute slots |
| Scott Monument | £7.00 (about $9.52); family £26.00 | Not stated as a band | Not permitted | Impossible — kiosk only, card payment only |
| Nelson Monument, Calton Hill | £6.50 (about $8.84); family of four £23.00 | 5 to 15 | Not permitted up the tower | Not stated; the hill itself is free and open |
| Gladstone's Land, Royal Mile | £7.00 (about $9.52); family £33.00, one-adult family £22.00 | Not stated as a band; Young Scot £1 | Not stated | Self-guided visits need no booking, until 14:30 |
| Royal Botanic Garden Palm Houses | Free | 15 and under | Free | Timed slots; the Palm Houses reopen on 2 October 2026 |
Two rows are gaps rather than prices. Camera Obscura publishes no admission price at all — adult, child or otherwise — because rates appear only inside the booking widget once a date and time are chosen, and the venue states plainly that no family ticket exists: "As family groups consist of many variations, we don't currently offer a family ticket... Tickets are individually priced." And the Edinburgh Dungeon publishes no child rate of any kind, only an age recommendation. Neither figure is estimated here.
What Is Genuinely Free For Children
Edinburgh's free list is the reason a family week here costs less than the guidebooks imply. None of it is means-tested, none of it is timed and none of it needs booking.
The National Museum of Scotland on Chambers Street is the one to build days around: free at every age, open daily 10:00 to 17:00, closed only on 25 December, with lifts to all floors and free wheelchair loan. Two details matter more with children than the collections do. The museum publishes a sensory map identifying its calmer galleries — Scottish, and Art and Design — which is a real tool on a wet Saturday when the Grand Gallery is loud.
And the Tower Entrance gives level access and "avoids the busy Entrance Hall", which is the difference between getting a buggy inside and wrestling one through a crowd.
- Free entry does not cover the ticketed special exhibitions: the Giants show to 14 September 2026 is £9.00 advance for a child aged 5 to 15 and £10.50 on the day
- That exhibition publishes an explicit family discount — 10% off when you buy up to three child tickets alongside up to two adult, over-65, student, Young Scot, disabled or unemployed tickets
- The advance rate closes at 23:59:59 the day before the visit; buying at the desk costs £1.50 more per adult ticket
The free small museums, and the one on the Royal Mile aimed at children
Four council museums are free seven days a week, 10:00 to 17:00, with last entry at 16:30: the Museum of Edinburgh and The People's Story facing each other on the Canongate, the Writers' Museum up Lady Stair's Close, and the Museum of Childhood on the High Street — four floors of toys, dolls' houses and school desks, and the museum's own claim to be the first of its kind in the world. Its venue page prints no admission price anywhere, so we do not state one; the only appearance of the word free on it sits inside a visitor's quote. The Writers' Museum is stairs only, with no lift and no ramp, which rules out a pram. The museums page has the full list with hours.
Outdoors and free: the gardens, the hill and the beach
Princes Street Gardens cost nothing and the West Gardens hold the city-centre play area the council describes as a "themed play area designed for toddlers and juniors" with a "large wooden castle with slide and climbing nets". There is a public toilet at the Ross Bandstand, open 10:00 to 19:00. The Royal Botanic Garden is free to enter daily, though its glasshouses stay shut until the Palm Houses reopen on 2 October 2026.
And Portobello has a mile and a half of promenade and sand twenty minutes from the centre by bus. One honest caveat about swimming there: SEPA classifies both Portobello bathing waters as subject to short-term pollution and advises that "bathing is not advised during or 1-2 days after heavy rainfall", with a daily prediction published only between 15 May and 15 September.
The Age Rules Venues Actually Publish
This is where family plans break, and it is entirely avoidable: six Edinburgh attractions publish a minimum age, and none of them prints it on the ticket page you land on from a search.
Three refuse under-fives outright. The Scott Monument states that children under 5 are not permitted — a 287-step spiral that narrows as it climbs makes that obvious once you are inside it. The Real Mary King's Close will not take under-5s for safety reasons on a route with 58 steps down and 38 back up in dim light, and the venue is explicit that there is no workaround. The Edinburgh Dungeon refuses under-5s and recommends age 8 and over; guests stand for most of the 70 to 75 minutes and three show areas use flashing lights, with an alternative route past them if you ask staff before you go in. The Nelson Monument on Calton Hill adds a fourth: under-5s are not permitted up the tower, though the hill and the view from it are free and open to everyone.
- Camera Obscura: under-5s are free but must still be booked a ticket, and children 12 and under must be accompanied by someone aged 16 or over
- The Scotch Whisky Experience: only the £25.00 Silver Tour takes children; the Gold Tour and the three-hour Taste of Scotland are 18 and over
- Johnnie Walker Princes Street: children over 8 are permitted on the Signature Experience only, always accompanied by an adult, and a strict Challenge 25 ID policy applies at the bar
- The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo: no age limit at all, but tickets are full price at any age with no concessions — only an under-3 on an adult's lap goes free
- Underground ghost and vault tours: minimum ages vary by operator, from under-2s refused with a suggested 5 and over, to a suggested 12 and over for routes that include the torture exhibition
Which of the ghost tours a child can actually join
The vault operators publish their own limits and they are not the same. The hour-long Underground Vaults Tour does not admit children under 2 and suggests 5 and over for the route without the torture exhibition, 12 and over with it. The evening underground ghost tour admits children from age 7, which is the lowest on the list.
Others set no under-5s, and one street-level dark-history walk recommends 10 and over. If the children are small and the point is atmosphere rather than fright, the comedy horror ghost bus is a seated 75 minutes on a vintage double-decker rather than a walk through a cellar. The ghost tours page compares all of them.
What Edinburgh's Family Attractions Do Not Publish
Six gaps came out of reading every venue's own pages in this run. Each of them is a question parents ask and no official source answers, and printing the gap is more useful than filling it with a guess.
The largest gap is at Edinburgh Zoo, the city's most obvious family attraction. Its ticket page prints an adult rate of £30.00 and a child rate of £20.60 for ages 3 to 15 — but states that the child figure already includes a 15% summer discount.
| What parents ask | What the venue publishes | What is missing |
|---|---|---|
| What does a child pay at Edinburgh Zoo? | £20.60 online, stated to include a 15% summer discount | The standard, undiscounted child price, and any family package |
| What does Camera Obscura cost? | Nothing at all on the website — prices load inside the booking widget | Every price, and a family ticket, which the venue says it does not sell |
| What does a child pay at the Edinburgh Dungeon? | A recommended age of 8 and a refusal for under-5s | Any separate child rate; the student discount amount; a family price |
| Is there a family ticket at Edinburgh Castle? | The plan-your-visit page confirms family tickets exist | The figure — no family price is printed |
| How long does Dynamic Earth take? | An average visit time of 2 to 3 hours, and 30-minute planetarium shows | Its opening hours: no times appear anywhere on its own website |
| When are Princes Street Gardens open? | A council page titled "opening dates" linking one PDF | The times themselves — the PDF is an image-only scan with no readable text |
It never prints the standard child price beside it, and there is no family package listed at all. The gate price is not published either; the site says only that you "could save around 10% compared to buying tickets on the day". Two more blanks on the same venue: the zoo publishes no recommended visit length, and no accessibility detail on its visit pages beyond a link to a statement.
The one that costs money rather than time
Dynamic Earth is the outlier worth understanding before you buy. It sells no day ticket at all: "we do not have a day ticket available for Dynamic Earth. Your Annual Pass allows you to enjoy our Galleries and Planetarium — plus unlimited access for a whole year." So the £23.00 adult and £15.00 child you pay online is a twelve-month pass whether you want one or not, it is non-refundable if you miss the date and can only be rescheduled, and walking in costs £1.50 more per adult.
The car park underneath costs £10.00 for two to three hours, roughly a child's admission again. For a family living locally that is good value; for a family here for three days it is a day ticket at a pass price.
Prams, Steps And The Closes
The single biggest practical difference between Edinburgh and a flat city is vertical. The Old Town is a ridge with stairs cut into both sides of it, and the closes that make the place famous are the least pram-friendly streets in Britain.
Start with the rule that catches most families: Edinburgh Castle stores nothing. Suitcases and rucksacks of 30 litres or more are refused entry, and the castle stores no luggage, prams or pushchairs. Below is what each of the step-heavy attractions publishes about its own stairs.
| Where | The stairs it publishes | Lift? | What that means with a pram or a toddler |
|---|---|---|---|
| Edinburgh Castle | Wooden-slatted entrance bridge, then a steep curved cobbled climb; some areas by steps | No | Prams are not stored — carry, push uphill, or leave it at the hotel |
| Camera Obscura | 98 steps over five floors, handrail on one side only | No — a listed building makes one impossible | Wheelchairs can be left in the foyer; a pram cannot go round |
| The Real Mary King's Close | 58 steps down, 38 back up, dim light, uneven ground | No | Under-5s are refused anyway; support chairs are arranged in advance by email |
| Scott Monument | 287 steps in a spiral that narrows as it rises | No | Under-5s are not permitted at all |
| The Writers' Museum | One step at the door, then stairs to every floor | No lift, no ramp | Free, but not a pram visit |
| National Museum of Scotland | Level access at the Tower Entrance | Lifts to all floors | The easiest big building in the city with a buggy |
So a pram either comes up the steep cobbled climb with you or does not come at all. The castle does lend useful things: sensory backpacks and ear defenders can be borrowed from the ticket office, and a mobility vehicle runs on the site.
Where a pram is genuinely easy
The New Town's grid is flat, wide and Georgian, and Princes Street Gardens, Stockbridge and the Water of Leith path below it are level walking. Leith is flat all the way to the shore, and Britannia is entered from inside Ocean Terminal with lifts between the decks and a tour route the venue describes as "highly accessible". Dynamic Earth states that "all areas of our building are wheelchair accessible". Buses take buggies as standard and the trams are level-boarding from the platform, which is one reason the £1.20 child fare beats a taxi for a family of four. Getting around Edinburgh has the fares and the tap-to-cap rule.
Toilets And Changing: What Venues Actually Publish
This is the section every family guide skips, and the answer is uncomfortable: of the fifteen Edinburgh venues whose own accessibility and visitor pages we read on 30 August 2026, not one publishes a baby-changing facility. What they do publish is worth having.
The venues that print toilet detail print it for accessibility rather than for families, which still tells you where the facilities are. The Royal Botanic Garden lists five accessible toilets — three in the John Hope Gateway, one at East Gate Lodge and one central. The Edinburgh Dungeon has accessible toilets just past admissions on the lower level, reached by the lift.
The Real Mary King's Close keeps its ground-floor toilets and gift shop usable without going down the stairs. The Palace of Holyroodhouse has accessible toilets in the Cafe at the Palace, which can be entered without a ticket — a useful thing to know at the bottom of the Royal Mile. Princes Street Gardens has a public toilet at the Ross Bandstand, 10:00 to 19:00.
And Holyrood Park's toilets sit behind the palace by the Education Centre, open 08:00 to 15:00 from October to March, 08:00 to 17:00 in April and September, 08:00 to 18:00 in May and later on summer weekends.
- Not one venue on this page publishes a baby-changing table, a feeding room or a pram park — the absence is consistent enough to plan around rather than to hope about
- Dynamic Earth is the exception on sensory provision: Explorer packs with fidget toys, ear defenders, sunglasses, stress balls and magnifying glasses, sensory maps, now-and-next cards, Relaxed Days with adjusted lighting and sound, and Quiet Afternoons on selected Sundays from 14:00 to 17:00
- The National Museum of Scotland lends wheelchairs free of charge and publishes a sensory map naming its quieter galleries
- Edinburgh Castle lends sensory backpacks and ear defenders from the ticket office
- The Water of Leith Visitor Centre, free and open daily 10:00 to 16:00, describes itself as family-friendly with young children and wheelchair accessible throughout — it is four miles west of the centre on buses 20, 34, 36 and 44, and it is not in Dean Village
Which Walks A Five-Year-Old Can Actually Do
Edinburgh sells itself on walking and most of the famous walks are hills. These are the distances and the climbs, from the official records and from the walking times the Water of Leith Conservation Trust publishes for its own path; the verdicts are ours.
The rule of thumb that works here: downhill and flat are fine at almost any age, uphill is a negotiation, and the one genuine mountain inside the city has two completely different approaches.
| Walk | Distance or climb | Time | Surface | With a five-year-old |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Royal Mile, castle to palace | 1 mile, dropping 358 feet to 138 feet | 25 minutes plus stops | Setts and pavement, 4.1% average gradient | Yes — downhill only, and never in the other direction |
| Princes Street Gardens and the play park | Flat, city centre | As long as you like | Paths and grass | Yes; the only free play area in the middle of town |
| Water of Leith, Roseburn to Stockbridge | About 2 miles | 45 minutes, the Trust's own figure | Level riverside path | Yes, and pram-friendly |
| Water of Leith, Stockbridge to Leith | About 3.5 miles | 1 hour 20 minutes, the Trust's figure | Level riverside path | Only with a scooter or a bus back |
| Calton Hill | Short climb from Waterloo Place | 10 to 15 minutes up | Path and steps | Yes — but under-5s are barred from the Nelson Monument tower |
| Arthur's Seat from Dunsapie Loch | The east approach to a 250.5 m summit | 20 to 30 minutes up | Grass, then bare rock | Possible; park roads shut to cars all weekend, so plan the approach |
| Arthur's Seat from the palace | The full climb | 45 to 60 minutes up | Steep and uneven | No |
Arthur's Seat is 250.5 m and takes 45 to 60 minutes from the palace end — but only 20 to 30 minutes from Dunsapie Loch on the east side, which is the route to use with children. The last few metres are bare rock you use your hands on, whichever way you come, and Historic Environment Scotland's own note is to "beware of sheer drops, uneven and slippery surfaces".
One closure to plan around
The Radical Road under Salisbury Crags — the flat-ish traverse every guidebook still recommends as the easy option in Holyrood Park — was closed for falling rock on our check date, with Historic Environment Scotland "working on reopening parts of the path later this summer". Ranger-guided walks are the only sanctioned way onto it. The climbing areas are closed too.
That removes the one route in the park that a family could treat as a stroll, which is worth knowing before you promise anybody an easy walk. If the weather is against you, the rainy day page has the indoor list instead.
Moving A Family Around The City
Edinburgh's transport is where families save real money, because the child fare is half the adult one and the family tickets are cheaper than four singles. Fares were read on the operators' own pages on 30 August 2026.
One flat fare covers any distance on a Lothian bus or on a tram inside the city zone, and children aged 5 to 15 pay exactly half of it. Under-5s travel free and need nothing.
| Ticket | Price | Approx. USD | Covers | Worth it when |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Child single, ages 5 to 15 | £1.20 | $1.63 | One journey, any distance, bus or city tram | One or two journeys a day |
| Under-5s | Free | — | Everything | Always |
| Child City DAY | £3.00 | $4.08 | Buses all day plus city-zone trams | Three journeys or more |
| Family DAY, up to 2 adults and 3 children | £13.00 | $17.68 | Buses and city trams, one day | Any day with more than four family journeys |
| Family Day Tripper, up to 2 adults and 3 children | £10.50 | $14.28 | Trams only, city zone | A Newhaven or Leith day — take one bus with it and it is void |
| Child tram to the airport | £4.00 | $5.44 | The airport zone, one journey | Arrival and departure days only |
The trap is the same one adults fall into: paying the driver by card buys a single with no cap attached, while tapping the reader yourself caps the whole day. For a family the day tickets usually win outright.
The sightseeing bus that carries children free
If you are going to buy a tour rather than a fare, one detail decides it. The City Sightseeing 24-hour ticket at £20 carries up to three children free with each paying adult and runs a children's commentary channel narrated in the style of Horrible Histories, on a 70-minute loop of 15 stops. The multi-route passes do not offer the free-child arrangement.
The Big Bus ticket at £19.80 covers two routes plus a Britannia loop and states that infants aged 3 and under travel free without a ticket. Both have enclosed lower decks, which matters more here than anywhere — see the rainy day page for what an open top is worth in Edinburgh weather.
The Bookings That Work With Children
Six options whose own listings say something concrete about children: the sightseeing ticket that carries three free per adult, the ship with an audio guide in 42 language versions, the castle tour in a kilt, the wizarding walk with a house-sorting quiz, and the one ghost tour that takes children from seven. Prices in pounds as listed by the operator on 30 August 2026.
from £20
Edinburgh: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour
A single 24-hour ticket on one 70-minute loop of 15 stops, with a Horrible Histories children's channel. Up to three kids travel free per paying adult, which the multi-route passes do not offer.
Check Availability
from £25
Edinburgh: The Royal Yacht Britannia Ticket
Admission to the former royal yacht in Leith, self-paced over roughly two hours with an audio handset in 36 languages. The ticket doubles as an annual pass for 12 months.
Check Availability
from £39
Edinburgh: Edinburgh Castle Tickets & Tour with Kilted Guide
A 90-minute castle tour whose selling point is a guaranteed local guide in a kilt, with tickets included. Arrive 15 minutes early; the tour runs in English only.
Check Availability
from £18
Edinburgh: Harry Potter Magical Guided Walking Tour
Two-hour walk between Greyfriars Kirkyard, Victoria Street and the Grassmarket, with a house-sorting quiz along the way. Runs in six languages, and the listing states plainly that no film scenes were shot in Edinburgh.
Check Availability
from £19
Edinburgh: Evening Underground Ghost Tour
Combines Greyfriars Kirkyard, the Royal Mile wynds and the Edinburgh Vaults in 75 minutes. It admits children from age 7, lower than most vault tours here.
Check Availability
from £19.80
Edinburgh: Big Bus Hop-On, Hop-Off Tour by Open-Top Bus
Two routes across 15 City stops plus a Britannia loop, on a 24- or 48-hour ticket with an app for live bus tracking. Dogs are welcome, and it is the only bus ticket here that says so.
Check AvailabilityPrices, ratings and details are the platform's own, checked 2026-08-30; dollar figures are the listed prices — the platform bills in your account's currency.
The Family Map: Free, Paid And Off-Limits
Everything on this page plotted from each venue's own record, or from Wikidata where the venue publishes no coordinates. Blue is free at every age, red is paid, and grey marks the three places that will not admit a child under five.
Coordinates come from each venue's own record where it publishes one, and from Wikidata where it does not.
What To Read Next
Three pages that pick up where the family list stops.
A rainy day in Edinburgh
Rain falls here on 158.8 days a year, so a family trip meets it. The rainy day page has the free indoor list, the bookings that ignore the weather and the sights that are not indoors at all.
The indoor planEdinburgh museums
The full list of what charges nothing, with hours and last-entry times. The museums page is where the free column on this page comes from.
Every free collectionWhat Edinburgh costs
Admissions, fares, food and the 5% visitor levy that has applied to accommodation since 24 July 2026. The costs page turns this page's child prices into a day rate.
The daily budgetEdinburgh With Kids: Questions
Does Edinburgh reward a trip with children?
Yes, and it is cheaper with children than most European capitals, because the national collections charge nothing at any age and the city is small enough to cross on foot. The constraints are physical rather than financial: it is a steep city, three well-known attractions refuse under-fives, and Edinburgh Castle stores no prams. Start with the free list and the age rules before you book anything.
Which places charge nothing for a child?
The National Museum of Scotland, both national galleries, the Museum of Childhood, the Museum of Edinburgh, The People's Story, the Writers' Museum and the City Art Centre are free at every age with no booking. So are Princes Street Gardens and its play area, the Royal Botanic Garden, Calton Hill, Holyrood Park and Portobello beach. Under-5s also travel free on every bus and city tram. The free section has the hours.
Which places in Edinburgh have a minimum age for children?
The Scott Monument and The Real Mary King's Close do not admit children under 5, and the Edinburgh Dungeon refuses under-5s and recommends age 8 and over. Under-5s are barred from the Nelson Monument tower on Calton Hill. Camera Obscura admits any age but requires that children of 12 and under are with someone 16 or over. The age rules section lists every published limit, including the ghost tours.
Can you get around Edinburgh with a pram?
In the New Town, Leith, Stockbridge and the gardens, easily — they are flat and the buses and trams take buggies. In the Old Town it is hard work, and at Edinburgh Castle it is a decision: the castle stores no prams or pushchairs at all, and the route inside is a steep cobbled climb. The prams and steps section has the published step counts for every venue that has them.
Do children pay to travel on Edinburgh's buses and trams?
Children aged 5 to 15 pay £1.20 a journey (about $1.63), half the adult fare, and under-5s travel free. A child City DAY ticket is £3.00 and a Family DAY covering up to two adults and three children is £13.00. The City Sightseeing 24-hour ticket carries up to three children free with each paying adult. The transport section compares them, and getting around Edinburgh has the full fare table.
Can children go into Edinburgh's whisky venues?
Some of them, on specific tours only. The Scotch Whisky Experience takes children on its £25.00 Silver Tour, while the Gold Tour and the Taste of Scotland are 18 and over. Johnnie Walker Princes Street permits children over 8 on its Signature Experience only, always with an adult, and applies a strict Challenge 25 policy for anyone drinking. The whisky page sets out which tastings are which, and the age rules covers the rest.
Where A Family Day Fits In An Edinburgh Trip
One scheduling point, and it comes straight out of the age rules above.
The attractions that refuse under-fives are all clustered in the Old Town within five minutes of each other, so a family with a toddler and an older child ends up splitting rather than skipping: one adult takes the nine-year-old down The Real Mary King's Close for an hour while the other has the National Museum, which is free, two minutes away and open until 17:00. Build one of those splits into the plan rather than discovering it at a ticket desk. The one-day, two-day and three-day itineraries put the castle and the hill on the days with the best weather, which is the other half of the same argument.
Edinburgh With Children, On Film
Three family visits filmed on the ground — useful for judging distances, queues and how a pram actually behaves on these streets before you commit to a plan.
10 Things to Do in Edinburgh With Kids
A run through the family attractions this page prices, filmed at each one.
Video: Epic Family EscapesThings to Do in Edinburgh with Kids
A family working through the Old Town, which is the terrain the steps section describes.
Video: Tiny Footsteps TravelTop 10 Things Do in Edinburgh, Scotland (even with a baby!)
The same city with an infant in tow — the closest thing on film to the pram question.
Video: Two Wandering SolesVideos load from YouTube only when you press play.
Page last reviewed 2026-08-30. Prices, hours and terms are set by the venue or operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure